Book Review: LEVIATHAN (The Book of Death – Volume 1) by Nicholas Gagnier

Yes, another book review! Nicholas Gagnier is an author you won’t want to miss if you enjoy contemporary suspense mixed with the supernatural.

Available on Amazon

Title: LEVIATHAN (The Book of Death – Volume 1)

Author: Nicholas Gagnier

Publisher: DeltaBet Press (June 25, 2019)


“I am not a monster.”

Ramona Knox is a rookie agent at the FBI with a special advantage β€” since she was a child, Ramona has been visited by a suited man who says he is Death.

Now on her first case with the Bureau in Washington, Ro is assigned to apprehend a heinous group of child traffickers, led by the enigmatic Jordan West.

When another child goes missing, Ramona must capitalize on every lead, leaving no stone unturned. As she and her friend Death venture further down the rabbit hole, West’s trail leads through the Catholic Church, the Bureau and into the afterlife itself. And as the evidence mounts, Ramona begins to believe her old companion might know more about her fate than he’s letting on.

Can Ramona follow the trail to Jordan West and save a young child? Or will she fall into the same trap which has already claimed other agents?

Urban fantasy meets kidnapping thriller in the first installment in The Book of Death series!

My Rating:


A Gripping and Gritty Suspense Dunked in Supernatural Thrills!

I was hooked on Leviathan right from the get go! Rookie FBI Agent Ramona Knox is a strong female protagonist who has suffered the hard knocks of life and is a product of her traumatic experiences. A self proclaimed sociopath. Dead inside. Despite this belief of herself she is driven to hunt down a ring of child abductors and to save their most recent victim, while simultaneously unraveling the mystery of the Death’s life long obsession with her.

Nicholas Gagnier is a talented writer with a mastery over written language that gives the reader a clear vision of characters, setting and action, but exerting a level control over the revelations of the story in a way that kept me grasping for clarity of what was really going on between some of the characters and situations. I mean this in the very best way. The author teases with some details, holds back full meaning in some interchanges, etc. And I just had to keep plunging onward with Ramona to get the answers!

What a crazy ride! I loved this book and cannot wait to move on to the next!! Underworld Earth (The Book of Death 2) and Atlas (The Book of Death 3).

This is a spin off series to the Olivia and Hale series (which I was unaware of when I read Leviathan) but can be read on its own.

About the Author:

Nicholas Gagnier is the author of ten books, including the eight book Shroud Saga, composed of the Olivia & Hale series and its spinoff The Book of Death. You can find him on Instagram @gagniernicholasauthor

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: